If you use Chargify’s Billing Portal, you can now control how product changes are handled when customers upgrade or downgrade. Base your strategy on one of the following workflows:

  • Prorated Upgrades and Downgrades (default) **
  • Instant Product Change, No Proration (new)
  • Delayed Product Change (new)

** “Prorated Upgrades and Downgrades” is set by default since it was the only action in the Billing Portal prior to this release.

If you are not familiar with Chargify’s Billing Portal, here is a quick overview: The Billing Portal is a customer-facing account management feature available to all Chargify merchants. When enabled, your customers can access and manage their subscription with options such as update billing and contact information, change plans, or cancel. To learn more, check out the Billing Portal Documentation.

The new product change workflows mimic the functionality previously available via the Admin UI and our API.

To change your strategy, visit your Site’s Settings tab > Billing Portal page (left navigation) > update the “Product Change Strategy” section > Save.

chargify-billing-portal-product-change